God Whistles

From the time my kids were barely big enough to toddle, every day when I came home from work I would whistle as I entered the door. It was my version, I guess, of “Hi honey, I’m home.” I loved hearing the kids’ squeals and shouts of “Daddy!” and listening to the precious pitter-patter of their feet running to hug me.

As they got bigger, that became my call for them to come find me. When it was time to leave the park or play-place, I’d give that same little whistle and they’d come running, regardless of how much fun they were having. In a loud and crowded room, across a park or swimming pool, from downstairs when it is time to get in the van – they hear that whistle instinctively, and know it means “Dad’s calling”.

That explains why tears filled my eyes when I read a verse from the prophet Isaiah I had never picked up on before. Isaiah 5:26 – “He lifts up a banner for the distant nations, he WHISTLES for those at the ends of the earth. Here they come, swiftly and speedily!”

God whistles. He whistles when it is time to gather His people.

If you know me at all, you could guess that after I dried my eyes, I whistled – and the kids came running – and we had a little lesson. After giggling together at the thought of God whistling and guessing what it might sound like, I told them I hope more than anything that when God whistles for them, they run to Him swiftly and speedily!

Oh God, please whistle for my kids!

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “God Whistles

  1. dan heringer

    Andy. My dad did the exact same thing. The rule was that you could go anywhere you wanted to but you better be where you could hear Dad’s whistle signaling time to come home. It still works and Steff is even programmed. I love it and now need to learn to whistle myself.

  2. Funny. I suppose you should learn how if you want to be like God… 😉

Leave a Reply

